История выжившей: Агнес Резоне Барта

Agnes is one of thousands of survivors in the former Soviet bloc who will be helped by a new agreement the Claims Conference negotiated in 2012 with the German government.
Agnes holds a drawing of Edith Kiss, who saved Agnes’ life by helping her escape Ravensbruck. Agnes has many paintings and drawings made by Edith, an artist, after the war.
Агнес  в свободную минуту вместе со своим социальным работником Томашем Орбаном из Венгерского Еврейского Фонда службы социальной помощи.
Agnes is widowed and never had children. A portrait of her late husband and stepson sits on her desk.

На столе в безупречно аккуратной будапештской квартире Агнес Резоне Барта лежат письма. Это лишь некоторые из множества писем, рисунков и фотографий, полученных ею за несколько лет от венгерских школьников, которым она рассказывала историю своей жизни. Школьники, под впечатлением от ее истории, отправляют Агнес свои рисунки, которыми они иллюстрируют рассказы Агнес. Каждое такое письмо, каждый рисунок драгоценен для нее.

«Как важно, когда людей связывает между собой любовь, а не ненависть», – повторяет Агнес свое жизненное кредо. Любовь школьников много значит для нее, и она поясняет: «Потому что они невинны».

Сегодня 90-летняя Агнес рассказывает свою историю тем, кто готов ее выслушать. Она – урожденная Агнес Шварц, ее первый муж не был евреем, и его родители были так категорически против этого брака, что в 1942 году добились ареста и высылки отца Агнес в Австрию, где он вскоре умер. Затем брак распался, так как муж настаивал, чтобы она отреклась от иудаизма. Агнес несколько лет жила в Будапеште и обучалась профессии фотографа, но после вторжения нацистов она в 1944 году была депортирована в Равенсбрюк, где работала на фабрике Даймлер-Бенц. “Я думала, что никогда уже не смогу смеяться”, – вспоминает она. Из всей семьи Холокост пережили только Агнес и ее сестра.

Во время войны жизнь Агнес спасла женщина, с которой она подружилась в лагере Равенсбрюк. Они вдвоем совершили побег во время марш-броска, и скрывались на протяжении 6 недель. Обе поклялись никогда не рассказывать о том, что им пришлось пережить в период Холокоста, но в 1992 году, когда у Агнес брали интервью те, кто описывал историю фирмы Даймлер-Бенц, автор порекомендовал ей попытаться облегчить тяжкий груз своих воспоминаний, поделившись ими со школьниками. Так она и сделала, и делает это по сей день. После смерти своей подруги Агнес хранит память о ней, демонстрирует книгу, в которой опубликованы ее картины.

Агнес благодарна за помощь, которую ей предоставляет Клеймс Конференс. Она – одна из нескольких тысяч переживших Холокост, которые живут в странах бывшего советского блока, и будут получать помощь на основании нового соглашения. Клеймс Конференс заключила это соглашение в 2012 году с правительством Германии. Те, кто получает выплаты из Фонда Центральной и Восточной Европы (CEEF),заметили, что их ежемесячная пенсия, выплачиваемая этим Фондом, была с 1 июля 2013 года увеличена с 300 евро до 310 евро. Новая выплата будет приравнена по размеру к пенсиям, выплачиваемым по линии Фонда Article 2 тем евреям, пережившим Холокост, которые проживают в других регионах мира.

С 2006 года Агнес получает различные услуги от Венгерского Еврейского Фонда Социальной Поддержки (HJSSF) в Будапеште, финансируемого Клеймс Конференс. Она – очень больной человек, у нее межпозвоночная грыжа в трех местах, тяжелый остеопороз и проблемы с тазобедренным суставом. Она перенесла два инсульта. Агнес пользуется ходунками, и не в состоянии покинуть свою квартиру без посторонней помощи. Ее часто приглашают выступать в мемориальном центре Холокоста в Будапеште, но самостоятельно она туда добраться не может. Единственный родной человек – ее сестра, живущая поблизости. У Агнес нет своих детей, но есть пасынок от второго брака, который живёт в Канаде.

HJSSF помогает Агнес, предоставляя транспорт для визитов к врачу, возмещает расходы на медикаменты и медицинское оборудование, предоставляет возможность еженедельного посещения сеансов физиотерапии.

Начиная с 2012 года, к ней трижды в неделю приходит работник по уходу на дому – он готовит пищу, делает покупки и помогает Агнес выйти на прогулку. Сейчас она ощущает себя причастной к жизни общества. «Услуги, предоставляемые по программе HJSSF, крайне важны для меня», – подчеркивает Агнес.
Услуги, предоставляемые HJSSF, помогают Агнес продолжать на старости лет жить в привычных условиях, у себя дома. В этом и состоит главная цель финансирования услуг по социальному обеспечению, осуществляемого Клеймс Конференс.

Survivor Story: Agnes Rezsone Bartha

Agnes is one of thousands of survivors in the former Soviet bloc who will be helped by a new agreement the Claims Conference negotiated in 2012 with the German government.
Agnes holds a drawing of Edith Kiss, who saved Agnes’ life by helping her escape Ravensbruck. Agnes has many paintings and drawings made by Edith, an artist, after the war.
Agnes has a quiet moment with her case worker, Tamás Orban, of the Hungarian Jewish Social Support Foundation.
Agnes is widowed and never had children. A portrait of her late husband and stepson sits on her desk.

Displayed on a desk in Agnes Rezsone Bartha’s spotless Budapest apartment are some of the many letters, drawings and photographs she has received over the years from Hungarian schoolchildren to whom she has told her life story. The schoolchildren who connect with Agnes’ story send pictures they have drawn of her wartime experiences. Each offering is precious.

“It’s important to be together with love and not hate,” she says is her life motto. The students’ love for her means so much “because they are innocent,” she says.

Now 90, Agnes retells her story to whoever will listen. Born Agnes Schwartz, her first husband was a non-Jew, and his parents were so deeply against the union that in 1942 they had Agnes’ father arrested and deported to Austria, where he died. The marriage then dissolved because the man insisted she give up her Judaism. Agnes lived for several years in Budapest and studied photography, but when the Nazis invaded in 1944 she was deported to Ravensbruck, where she worked in a Daimler-Benz factory. “I thought I would never laugh again,” she remembered. She and her sister are the only members of their family to survive the Shoah.

During the war, Agnes’ life was saved by a friend she made at Ravensbruck. The two women escaped from a forced march, and survived by hiding for six weeks. Both vowed never to talk of their Holocaust experiences, but when Agnes was interviewed in 1992 for a history of Daimler-Benz, the author suggested she conquer some of her pain by telling her story to schoolchildren. She has done so ever since. After her friend died, Agnes has continued to keep her memory alive by displaying a book in which her friend’s paintings were published.

Agnes is grateful for the assistance she receives from the Claims Conference. She is one of thousands of survivors in the former Soviet bloc who will be helped by a new agreement the Claims Conference negotiated in 2012 with the German government. Those who receive payments from the Central and Eastern European Fund (CEEF) saw their monthly pension increase on July 1, 2013 from €300 to €310. The new payment will be equal to the pensions paid under the Article 2 Fund to survivors in other parts of the world.

Since 2006 Agnes has received various services from the Hungarian Jewish Social Support Foundation (HJSSF) in Budapest, funded by the Claims Conference. Among her many illnesses, she suffers from three herniated disks in her back, severe osteoporosis and hip problems. She has had two strokes. Agnes uses a walker and cannot leave her apartment without help. She is invited frequently to speak at the Holocaust Memorial Center in Budapest but cannot get there on her own. The only family she has nearby is her sister; she never had any children, but has a stepson from her second marriage who lives in Canada.

HJSSF helps Agnes with transport to doctors’ offices, reimbursement for medicines and medical supplies, and weekly physical therapy appointments. Starting in 2012, a homecare aide comes three days a week to cook, shop and help Agnes to walk outside. She now feels part of the community. “It is critical for me to receive these services from the program offered by HJSSF,” she said.

The services provided by HJSSF help Agnes to live out her days at home, the goal of Claims Conference social-welfare funding.